Adventure: Sheep’s Clothing
Session: 2006-11-04
Player: Rachel Reddick
PC: Antinua
Status: Wizard 2

Dear Kanathas:

I will resume with our meeting with Klid and his “friends.” Between the four of us, we managed to keep him cornered and kill his rats. I have determined that Indigo likes rats in the same state that I like them; that is, dead. Also, Klid is a lycanthrope, apparently a wererat. At one point, Mike and Klid were wrestling each other, with fur and feathers flying. I attempted to send both of them to sleep, thereby eliminating the problem. It is a pity that the spell cannot be directed to a specific target. Unfortunately, it only affected Mike. I apologized once the situation was resolved. I will remember to be more careful with spells in the future; hindering one’s allies is not the best use of one’s magic.

We kept Klid contained long enough for them to arrive and take charge of the situation. Klid was taken to prison, where we explained that he was probably trying to kill us and was likely responsible for the clerk’s demise. He had a number of interesting items as well, which the Watch consented to show to us. Notably, he had a message from his “master” and a wand of Nystul’s magic aura. The use of such a wand would explain why I found no magic auras in Grayson’s office.

In the council session that morning, the matter of Klid’s arrest was discussed. Many people were upset with Raidith. We managed to muddy the waters ourselves. Alain spoke to the council and tried to present the message in Klid’s possession. Unfortunately, it was not in Raidith’s handwriting, and only angered the council. To make matters worse, we had not been able to find Lady Elaydren that morning, which was very peculiar. Those who know her said that she is almost never late or absent from work.

Unable to find Elaydren, we decided to speak with Raidith. He was not particularly subtle. He hinted that he had kidnapped Elaydren, and suggested that we meet at his house for dinner and discussion.

We accepted, but with reservations. Expecting trouble, we explained the situation to the Baron himself, who agreed to lend us a pair of warforged guards to assist us in the event of trouble. We finished our preparations, and went to Raidith’s house.

The grounds were unpleasant, and covered by some strange mist. We were intending to enter through the front door; however, we immediately noticed blood on the front step. That did not appear promising, so we started to go around the building. One window was broken, with a roughly halfling-sized hole in it. Around the back, we found a door which had been pushed open… and Xame, who is roughly halfling-sized. He was also looking for Elaydren and Raidith. We then opened the front door from the inside without incident, and the two warforged stood by, waiting for a message from me if we were in trouble. Everything on the first floor was covered in dust and apparently abandoned. Raidith has strange tastes.

We proceeded to examine the second floor. We found little of note, save that this area was clearly inhabited. In the chamber that was apparently his bedroom, we found a few darts in his wardrobe. None of us wanted to examine them too closely; Tui suggested using Indigo to determine their properties. The idea! However, after speaking to Mike for a moment, I decided that attempting to explain why I was so offended would probably only cause more trouble.

In any case, we eventually found a room containing bookshelves along the walls, Lady Elaydren, and Raidith. Elaydren’s eyes were glazed. Raidith said that he wanted us all to die, and began work to accomplish that goal. Again, he demonstrated a lack of subtlety; I had expected him to at least attempt to bribe us first, or perhaps do something to convince us to let down our guard. But no.

That was just as well. The fight that followed was quite confusing. Elaydren was under his control, and knocked out Tui with a color spray. Fortunately Alain and I managed to keep our eyes shut when she cast it. Raidith appears to have a fondness for traps; at some point, an object was thrown at the bookshelves, triggering blades there. Raidith is even friendlier than Klid.

While the others attacked Raidith, I tried, and failed, to prevent Elaydren from producing an obscuring mist, which complicated matters further. Raidith had some way of making himself very difficult to see. I attempted to cast sleep into the mist, but it had no effect. While I was completing the spell, Alain took a swing at me with his flail, and missed due to the mist. He was now under Raidith’s control as well, and proceeded to strike at Mike. Xame appears to have gained some new skills; he used a pair of scrolls of protection to temporarily remove Alain and Elaydren from Raidith’s control. He seems to have become a cleric, although as of yet I do not know of which deity. He still adamantly denies having been anything other than a commoner before.

While Xame was explaining the situation as quickly as he could to Elaydren, the warforged and the rest of us worked to corner Raidith. I had few spells remaining, and his magic made him very difficult to strike. Seeing that there was little chance of otherwise assisting, I attempted to charm him. I was astonished that I succeeded despite the fact that we had all been attacking him only a moment before. If it was he who removed my charm person spell from Klid, this was a most ironic development.

I was able to convince him to release his control of Alain and Elaydren, but not to let me have the circlet that enhanced his psionic abilities, or to come with us back to the House Cannith complex. We departed for a few minutes, to regroup and gather supplies. Upon reflection, this was a poor decision, since he had left by a secret exit by the time we returned. However, he left his now-depleted circlet behind. I suppose it would have been too distinctive.

Soon, Grayson and a number of others were removed from Raidith’s control, and, due to recent events, the treaty is sure to fail. Also, the Baron needs to find another new councilor. Perhaps the man who was passed over for Aveska will now be chosen.

House Cannith was quite grateful for our services, and rewarded each of us. I have received a dragonshard already attuned to me, which contains a number of interesting spells. I had certainly not expected such a reward as this, but it is not at all unwelcome.

I have become somewhat interested in the psionic arts as a result of this encounter with Raidth. Would you ask Uthen if he knows anything of interest?

I am sorry to hear that your progress is slow, but I am glad that you and Uthen are well. Give Verdana a morsel on my behalf. I wonder what she and Indigo will make of each other.

Your sister,

Antinua

Player’s Notes:

I still wonder how they would attune the dragonshard to Antinua. The “it’s magic” explanation works, I suppose…

It really would have been amusing, I think, if Raidith had bothered to try to buy off the party first.

