Player: Rachel Reddick
PC: Taris Talandro
Status: Ninja 1/Swashbuckler 3/Ninja +1

Left on a table-top some months ago in Thaliost, Thrane…

Dear Everyone:

As I hope you have all realized by now, I am never going to hear the call of the paladin, and I am never going to find the necessary discipline to become a cleric. Mother, even your guilt trips aren’t going to do it. I realize you’re all disappointed, but you already were anyway.

That said, I intend to use what talents I have to the fullest. Never fear; I will honor the Silver Flame in what I do. I’m going to be traveling around Thrane with some friends of mine of whom you would disapprove. Hopefully l’ll figure out what to do with my life. Something more useful than be lectured at by well-meaning relatives.

Just so you know, I have also decided to take my inheritance with me before I go. I figured you wouldn’t really miss it.

Don’t worry about me too much. I learned a few useful skills when you weren’t paying attention.

Taris

***

I’m off. Here’s to traveling. I’m going to travel a bit with a couple of the other young ninjas, and see what I can see. It’s a good thing the parents never found out about those little forays out at night. Well, it’s a good thing they just thought I had a boyfriend or something.

***

Something of a disagreement as to where we’re all going to be going. Whatever. I wanted to travel more than these two were interested in. They just want to hone their skills; I want to know why I’m doing what I’m doing. And be somewhere other than Thrane, where people aren’t competely people unless they’re completely human. The Church has some problems it needs to work out, I think.

***

I met a fellow by the name of Eldon today. Interesting fellow. He was a Cyran sorcerer-soldier during the Last War. He’s planning on looking for some relatives who were lost in the Mournland when that all happened, and wanted to have somebody who can skewer things if there’s trouble. From what he says about the Mournland, there’s likely to be trouble. Oh, and I let him know I have some ninja training. He wanted to make sure I could handle myself in the Mournland. At least he agreed to keep it quiet.

Player’s Notes

This is going to be a serious change of pace from Antinua, that much is certain. A lot less zapping and a lot more skewering. (Taris’s unofficial motto appears to be “I don’t poke things, I skewer things.”) As you might guess from the note she left to her folks, Taris is a somewhat chaotic character. The interaction between her and Xame should be highly amusing…

In any case, the long-term game plan involves a mix of swashbuckler, ninja and duelist levels. Think rapier-wielding redhead with some stealth thrown in. And a few other things. The drawback is the need for Int, Wis and Dex to pull it all off; oh, well. So much for charisma. In any case… after gaining that first level of duelist (which won’t be for a while… alas) she’ll be adding Int, Wis and Dex bonuses to her AC… which will be highly entertaining. Plus fun feats involving two-weapon sorts of things, and avoiding trouble sorts of things.

As a further note, Taris is not particularly likely to write letters back home to her parents, siblings, or other assorted relatives. Her journal is written in Infernal… to make sure that her parents/relatives/most other people can’t read it.

And her unboosted abilities are…

  • Str: 10
  • Dex: 16
  • Con: 11
  • Int: 14
  • Wis: 14
  • Cha: 8
