Adventures: Interlude, Grasp of the Emerald Claw
Session: 2007-02-10
Player: Dave Zhang
PC: Xame
Status: Rogue 1 / Cleric 4 / Divine Oracle 2

An Itching in my Back

Recently my back has started to itch. I’m not sure why–I tried scratching it and magical means of getting rid of it, but nothing seemed to work right away. It’s not a big deal; I grew accustomed to it after a week or so. But I did want to make sure it wasn’t some type of necrotic cyst or anything, so I consulted G about it. He was a bit more cryptic than usual, only saying that I should try to acquire myself a headband of intellect at earliest convenience. Strange, since I rely more on understandings of psychological natures rather than bookish learning. But, he’s never led me astray before, so I continue to trust in him completely.

This, of course, leads to the other problem–I was about 4k short of buying that 4k item. The party was still in Sharn, nominally trying to stop some warforged uprising, but mostly being useless. The Lord of Blades threw down a gauntlet, challenging us to meet him in Xen’drik, and I felt we should have left immediately, but the others thought it would be better to acquire a fast mode of transportation from Viorr, who assigned us the task of impeding the warforged dissidents. Eldon managed to use a magical disguise to infiltrate the terrorist organization, and after a bloody show of “loyalty” by destroying a healing potion factory, managed to be promoted to guard for a “runner.”

The five of us hatched out a quick plan–assuming the runner’s package was a magic item that required some activation word, a silence spell would protect us. We could follow the runner to where he would use it (to learn his motives) before disabling him. Thus, we assembled where the runner emerged, intent on following him, but were surprised to find his label surprisingly apt–he (an undead warforged) ran, at top speed. Mike, the bird-man turned orc, either forgot our plan or wasn’t really listening in the first place, because he charged our quarry. Only to be intercepted by a warforged barbarian wielding a greataxe. Eldon decided the plan was shot, and thus so should be the runner.

Two other greataxe-wielding warforged emerged from the shadows, as well as some acid-branded arrows. Taris and I managed to down one down between the two of us (I actually contributed! Only indirectly though, via a spiritual weapon), and I quickly hid away the magical greataxe, whispering to Taris not to tell the others. We then heard an orcish grunt of pain, and ran to found Mike bleeding profusely on the ground once again. I patched him up, while the others took care of the remaining opponents, and then I stuck the other two magical greataxes in my haversack.

We reported back to Viorr, who finally granted me access to Elaydren’s corpse. I asked her a few questions on the intents of the Emerald Claw and the Lord of Blades, and learned that the fourth and final schema was to be found in the ruins of Xen’drik. She wasn’t very clear what would happen should our foes collect all four, but it seemed like something best not to find out through direct experimentation.

We then headed to Stormreach, on the northern tip of Xen’drik, by an elemental-powered submarine. Unsurprisingly, we were ambushed. Walking seems to be the safest method of passage. Can’t seem to enable myself to walk on water for long distances yet though. Where was I? Oh yes, the ambush. It was a rather large dire shark, that managed to shallow Anson whole. He was quite in trouble, but Eldon managed to zap it with a ray of stupidity, after a few seconds of dawdling.

The rest of the voyage was rather uneventful, and I was able to try out a few new recipes with shark steaks. I reached Stormreach, and immediately I headed out on the town alone, under the claim of asking around for the whereabout of the Emerald Claw. In truth, I took a not-so-short break to get chummy with one of the local magical arms dealers, and sold the three +1 greataxes at decently above the going rate for second-hand goods. That enabled me to buy the +2 headband of intellect (also at a discount). I then got back to business and found that the undead warforged expedition was headed south on the river.

Convening back at the inn, the others asked for their share of the proceeds from the greataxe sales, and I glibly told them that being new to this land and with no contacts, I was quite ripped off, and only received 1000 gp for the 2 greataxes (that most of them knew about). Eldon seemed a bit suspicious, but Taris and Anson both put in a word for me, so he let the matter drop.

That night, I snuck into Taris’s room, only have her pounce on me as soon as I walked in. Wow, this human woman really likes to play rough! She realized it was me, and released me, curious and somewhat annoyed why I was there in the dead of the night. I gave her an extra 300 gp, and confessed to her I had to buy something to please my patron. I promised her to return the favor in some way or other. She seemed to accept this arrangement.

Player’s Notes:

Out of character, I had just realized that I’m several skill points short of getting Heir of Siberys at level 13. Much as I hate to cheat other players out of their fair share of loot, Xame needed the item, and he wouldn’t have moral qualms about a little fib.

And incidentally, doesn’t Taris have terrible Listen and Spot checks? In that case, I probably would have just left the money under her pillow, with a note scrawled “Thanks for last night,” written by my left hand so she wouldn’t know it was me.

Number of times Mike has been brought below 0 HP so far: 3
Number of times Mike has been brought below -10 HP so far: 1

